Dr. Veerathai Santiprabhob

Governor Bank of Thailand

Veerathai Santiprabhob is the 23rd Governor of the Bank of Thailand, with a five-year term starting on October 1st, 2015. He is a macroeconomist, strategist, and financial professional with more than 20 years of experiences in economic policy design, commercial banking, and capital market. He began his career in 1994 as an economist at the International Monetary Fund in Washington, DC before serving as a co-director of the Policy Research Institute of the Thai Ministry of Finance during the 1997 Asian financial crisis.


In 2014, Veerathai was appointed to be a member of the Bank of Thailand’s Board and Monetary Policy Committee. He has also been a member of the State-Owned Enterprise Policy and Supervisory Committee and was an advisor of Thailand Development Research Institute (TDRI). In private sector, Veerathai was a senior executive of Siam Commercial Bank, PCL and The Stock Exchange of Thailand. He held various positions at the boards of leading corporations, including Thanachart Capital PCL, Bangkok Dusit Medical Services PCL, Thai Airways International PCL, and Central Pattana PCL.


Veerathai received his B.A. (first class honors) in Economics from Thammasat University in 1988 and was awarded H.M. the King Bhumibol Adulyadej award for academic excellence. He went on to receive A.M. and Ph.D. in Economics from Harvard University in 1994. His graduate study was sponsored by H.M. the King's Anandamahidol Foundation.


Veerathai has actively participated in social activities. He has served as the treasurer of the Royal Initiative Discovery Foundation, a member of the executive board of the Buddhadasa Indapanno Archives, a member of the board of Mae Fah Luang Foundation, a member of the board of the Thailand Sustainable Development Foundation, and an honorary member of Thammasat University Council. He was a member of the first Independent Expert Oversight Advisory Committee of the World Health Organization in Geneva and was awarded the Eisenhower Fellowship in 2013.

Back to list of speakers

Copyright © 2018 Nomura

This website is the sole property of Nomura. No part of this website may be reproduced in any form of by any means - electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise - without the prior written permission of Nomura.